Staff & Board of Directors


Emily Smith

Executive Director

Prior to coming to 1708, Emily was the Curatorial Fellow in Modern and Contemporary Art at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts where she worked from 2007 until 2010. Projects at VMFA include the exhibitions, The Ludwig and Rosy Fischer Collection of German Expressionist Art; Matisse, Picasso, and Modern Art in Paris; and Labor and Leisure: Works by African American Artists in the VMFA Permanent Collections. Prior to VMFA, she was Director of Exhibitions at Piedmont Arts in Martinsville, Virginia (2004-2007) and the Assistant Director at Second Street Gallery, Charlottesville, Virginia (2003-2004). Smith was an adjunct faculty member in art history at Patrick Henry Community College, Martinsville, VA and was a critic for a Charlottesville, Virginia weekly paper. Smith received a MA in Art History from the University of Virginia in 2002.

Park Christopher Myers

The Royall Family Curator

Park Myers is a curator and writer from Houston, TX, formerly based in New York City. He studied Film and Video at the Maryland Institute College of Art, and holds an M.A. from the Center for Curatorial Studies at Bard College. He has curated exhibitions and projects at Actual Size LA, Komplot, Brussels, the Steamboat Springs Arts Council in Steamboat, CO, the Hessel Museum of Art in Annandale-on-Hudson, NY, and the Copenhagen Art Festival, among many other institutions. Publications include The Cure, published by Komplot, and Dear Helen published by CCS Bard. He is a co-founder and contributing editor of aCCeSsions an online journal for exploration in interdisciplinary curatorial praxis. Myers current research directions involve cognitive science, psychology, exhibition design, and the interaction of these fields of study with contemporary art.

Erin Willett

Gallery Coordinator & Operations Manager

Erin was born and raised in Roanoke, Virginia. She completed her BFA from Virginia Commonwealth University in 2011 in Painting & Printmaking with a minor in Sculpture. Her work has been exhibited in several solo and group exhibitions in Richmond. Prior to her current position, she served as the Project Manager for 1708 Gallery's InLight Richmond from 2012 to 2015. She also held the position of Gallery Assistant of Reynolds Gallery, in Richmond, Virginia.

Board of Directors

1708 Gallery's Board of Directors consists of a majority of professional artists. The dedication of this active Board has been a key element in the long-term success of 1708 Gallery. The Board of Directors and an active executive committee lead the governance process. 1708 Gallery is dedicated to developing best practices in governance. The Board participates in strategic planning, development initiatives, and oversight of the programmatic activities of 1708 Gallery, in partnership with the professional staff.

  • Matt Spahr


  • Julie Weissend

    Immediate Past President

  • Molly H. Dodge

    President Elect

  • Caroline Wright


  • John Henry Blatter


  • Nupa Agarwal
  • Janis Allen
  • Susie Ganch
  • Hamilton Glass
  • Paige Goodpasture
  • Susan Jamieson
  • Michael Lease
  • Matt Lively
  • Lucy Meade
  • Haley McLaren
  • Sarah Rebekah Byrd Mizer
  • Valerie Molnar
  • Paul Monroe
  • Enjoli Moon
  • Maureen Neal
  • Amie Oliver
  • Brian Palmer
  • Pamela Kiecker Royall
  • Kendra Wadsworth
  • Courtnie Wolfgang


Emeritus Council

  • Rob Acosta-Lewis
  • Pam Anderson Sutherland
  • Susanne Arnold
  • Jay Barrows
  • Lora Beldon
  • Brad Birchett
  • Ruth Bolduan
  • Sally Bowring
  • Mark Bryant
  • Tom Chenoweth
  • Sara Clark
  • Stephen Clark
  • Don Crow
  • Janet DeCover
  • Jan Delaney
  • Sally Dunn
  • Christopher English
  • Susan Ferrell
  • Pam Fox
  • Travis Fullerton
  • Joan Gaustad
  • William Gravitt
  • Chris Gregson
  • Suzanne Hall
  • John Haddad
  • Karen Kincaid
  • Sandy Kjerulf
  • Cyndi Massad
  • Robert McAdams, Jr.
  • James Miller
  • Cindy Neuschwander, in memorium
  • Michael Pierce
  • Louis Poole
  • Terrie Powers
  • Celia Rafalko
  • Elaine Rogers
  • Fiona Ross
  • Alyssa Salomon
  • Diego Sanchez
  • Laura Leigh Savage
  • Anne Savedge
  • Mary Scurlock
  • Joe Seipel
  • Michelle Smith
  • Bob Steele
  • Russell W. Sterling II
  • Gordon Stettinius
  • Georgianne Stinnett
  • Elizabeth B. Stutts
  • Javier Tapia
  • Michele Walter
  • Jennifer Van Winkle
  • David Whaley
  • Susann Whittier
  • Willie Anne Wright