Harrison Haynes - Medium Crash

June 6 – July 19, 2014

1708 Gallery is pleased to present Harrison Haynes Medium Crash, an exhibition of works by Harrison Haynes. Join us for the opening reception on Friday, June 6 from 5:00 to 9:00 p.m.

Harrison Haynes’ work moves between photography, painting, and sculpture and draws from his experience as a drummer. Haynes’ imagery suggests a band’s working space and engages both a material, rhythmic framework and a virtual, photographic space.

From the artist's statement:

The title of this show refers both to the type of crash cymbal I play when I’m drumming and to the collision of disciplines that undergirds my approach to art making.  Objects and materials depicted here – sofa cushions, drum heads, construction lamps, light bulbs, cans, cymbals, mirrors, frames, tape, wood, paper – all come from rehearsal spaces, rock clubs, and from my own cluttered art studio. When photographed, these objects take on new qualities, but their prior usage lingers as a kind of (ec)static charge.

Currently based in North Carolina, Haynes received his BFA from Rhode Island School of Design and his MFA from the Milton Avery Graduate School of the Arts at Bard College. His work has been exhibited nationally including in The Record: Contemporary Art and Vinyl which originated at the Nasher Museum of Art and traveled to the ICA/Boston. Haynes is a drummer in the New York-based band Les Savy Fav.

For more information about the artist please visit: www.harrisonhaynes.com.

1708 Gallery’s 2013-2014 exhibition season is dedicated to Cindy Neuschwander and is generously supported in part by Jay Barrows, Molly Dodge and Bruce Schaub, Geraldine Duskin, Edward Elmore, Suzanna Fields and Richard Douglas, Susan and John Jamieson, Andrea Levine, Lucy Meade, John and Lisa Moerner, Vickie and Jim Quigg, Beverly Reynolds, Gabriel Ricioppo, Bill and Pam Royall, John Ryan and Wesley Chenault, Geoffrey and Jennifer Sisk, Chip and Lynn Spitzer, Maria Tabb, Rob Tarbell and Anna Von Gehr, Laura West, the Virginia Commission for the Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts.